#Book Review – Rage And Retribution By Lorraine Mace @lomace @AccentPress #bookblogger #RageandRetribution

Posted March 5, 2020 by Ami-May in Book-Reviews, Crime Fiction, Hard-Boiled Mysteries, Police Procedurals / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from the Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

#Book Review – Rage And Retribution By Lorraine Mace @lomace  @AccentPress  #bookblogger #RageandRetributionISBN: 1786156857
Rage and Retribution (The DI Sterling series) by Lorraine Mace
Published by Headline Accent on February 13, 2020
Genres: Fiction, Crime Fiction, Hard-Boiled Mysteries, Police Procedurals
Pages: 490
Format: ARC, Kindle
Source: Netgalley
Buy on Amazon UK
Goodreads

Can two wrongs ever make a right?
A man is found by the side of a canal, comatose and brutally attacked.
It quickly becomes clear that someone is abducting men and subjecting them to horrific acts of torture. After three days they're released, fighting for their lives and refusing to speak.
A councillor is accused of fraud.
Montague Mason is an upstanding member of the community. That is until he's publicly accused of stealing the youth centre's funds - an accusation that threatens to rip through the very heart of the community and expose his best-kept secret. But how far would he go to protect himself?
Two cases. One deadly answer.
As the two cases collide, D.I. Paolo Sterling finds he has more questions than answers. And, when torture escalates to murder, he suddenly finds himself in a race against time to find the killer and put an end to the depravity - once and for all.
'A dark, cleverly plotted tale . . . I was gripped from the opening scene and raced through the book to its final, shocking ending. Crime writing at its very best' Sheila Bugler
'Gritty, topical, sometimes lacerating, but always enthralling. A truly compulsive read' Abbie Frost
Lorraine Mace brings us the fourth instalment in her dark, gritty and shocking series featuring DI Paolo Sterling - perfect for fans of Karin Slaughter, Tess Gerritsen and Mo Hayder.
Readers love the D.I. Sterling thrillers:
'I could not put my kindle down while reading this!' *****
'A real page turner' *****
'Gripping, gritty and gruesome. A perfect start to a new series!' *****
'An absolutely brilliant read' *****
'A gritty and gripping thriller that kept me turning the pages' *****
'Wow!!! What a book!!!' *****
'Dark, disturbing yet utterly gripping!' *****
'This series is now a firm favourite of mine and I'm looking forward to the next one' *****
'Every book I've read in the series has been fantastic' *****

This is the fourth book in the DI Sterling series and what another cracker it was. Lorraine Mace quickly became one of my favourite authors from Book One – Retriever of Souls. As with all her books in this series, it can be read as a standalone, but I highly recommend you start from the beginning. The whole series is just too good not to miss.

The opening of this book was an absolute corker. Wow, just wow is all I can say.
This story begins with a plaque that has been vandalised with lipstick in the newly opened youth centre. The lipstick spells out that Montague Mason has been fleecing funds from the finances at the youth centre.

Then a man is found in a comatose state and severely attacked by the side of a canal after a doctor calls the police after working out there seems to be a pattern of men being so severely assaulted. This starts off as an epic disgustingly shocking assault on men but soon turns into a horrific murder investigation. I was slightly horrified by what the murderer subjected their victims too. 


DI Sterling and his team now have two investigations to solve. But are they connected?
Honestly, this had me fucking gripped and absolutely didn’t let off at all. It was all manners of dark, shocking, terrifying and gritty.

Like I am kinda speechless it was exceptionally graphic, and I especially loved the chapters where the killer is telling their story, It was addictive and fascinating. I love when you can really get inside the murderers head.
DI Sterling and his team are all tremendous characters individually and as a team. 

About Lorraine Mace

Born and raised in South East London, Lorraine lived and worked in South Africa, on the Island of Gozo and in France before settling on the Costa del Sol in Spain. She lives with her partner in a traditional Spanish village inland from the coast and enjoys sampling the regional dishes and ever-changing tapas in the local bars. Her knowledge of Spanish is expanding. To stop her waistline from doing the same, she runs five times a week.

When not working on the D.I. Sterling series of crime novels, Lorraine is engaged in many writing-related activities. She is a columnist for both Writing Magazine and Writers’ Forum and is head judge for Writers’ Forum monthly fiction competitions.

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

  • Reading 2020

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.