#BookReview | Taken By M.A.Comley #DIKayliBright #Taken #Crimefiction @mel_comleywrite

March 19, 2020     Ami-May     Book Reviews

I received this book for free from the Author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

#BookReview | Taken By M.A.Comley #DIKayliBright #Taken #Crimefiction @mel_comleywriteISBN: B084XWNTJZ
TAKEN (DI Kayli Bright Book 6) by M.A. Comley
Series: DI Kayli Bright #6
Published by Jeamel Publishing Limited on March 17, 2020
Genres: Fiction, Crime Fiction, Mystery, Police Procedurals
Pages: 187
Format: Kindle, ARC
Source: Author
Buy on Amazon UK

From New York Times bestselling author M A Comley, who has sold almost three million copies worldwide, comes the sixth book in the DI Kayli Bright series.
A past that comes back to haunt you...
Jaime Connor and her family venture out for the day, only for it to end in disaster.
A chance encounter with two teenagers puts Jaime's life in mortal danger.
Why was Jaime abducted?
During the investigation, DI Kayli Bright and her partner, DS Dave Chaplin, uncover shocking revelations about Jaime's family.
Will Kayli succeed in saving Jaime from the clutches of her abductors? And will she be able to put a stop to their heinous crimes in this cat-and-mouse thriller?
Other books in this series are:The Missing ChildrenKiller on the RunHidden AgendaMurderous BetrayalDying Breath

DI Kayli Bright and DS Dave Chaplin are investigating an auction case. The Victim Jamie Connor and her family went out for the day until Jamie goes back out to grab some things. She is confronted by two teenagers and disappears. 
As with all Mel’s books, This was a very quick read. It was extremely difficult to pop down once you began. 

Kayli and Dave are incredible characters partner.  
As kaylis characters and personal life continues to develop it is thoroughly enjoyable to go along for the ride. Daz is a manipulative and violent monster, who also abuses, beat and instils fear into his girlfriend. 

Billy seemingly is portrayed as a nasty character but she is also being battered, fear-stricken and abused by her partner. My opinions of Billy kept changing continually.  And whether or not I love or hate her. 

Mel is exceedingly terrific at creating characters, she does a fantastic job of portraying both favourable and unfavourable characters. She creates fascinating quirky flawed characters with backstories with plenty of deepness and depth. 

Her writing style is no-nonsense storytelling at it’s best. 
My favourite things about this book are obviously the tremendous crime-busting duo. 

I love how seemingly complex this case was with an unpleasant set of baddys with one giving you conflicting uneasy feelings throughout. 


About M.A. Comley

M A Comley is a KINDLE UNLIMITED ALL-STAR author as well as being a New York Times, USA Today, Amazon Top 20 bestselling author, she has topped the book charts on iBooks as a top 5 bestselling and reached #2 bestselling author on Barnes and Noble. Over two and a half million copies sold world wide. She’s a British author who moved to France in 2002, and that’s when she turned her hobby into a career.

When she’s not writing crime novels as well as caring for her elderly mother, she’s either reading or going on long walks with her rescue pup Labrador, Dex.

Here is a list of her books, Cruel Justice, Impeding Justice, Final Justice, Foul Justice, Guaranteed Justice, Ultimate Justice, Virtual Justice, Hostile Justice, Tortured Justice, Rough Justice, Dubious Justice, Calculated Justice, Twisted Justice, Prime Justice, Heroic Justice, Shameful Justice, Immoral Justice and Overdue Justice. There are several novellas and short stories in the series too.

No Right To Kill, Killer Blow, The Dead Can’t Speak, Deluded and The Murder Pact in the DI Sara Ramsey series.

Her other successful series are: The DI Sally Parker thriller series, which includes WRONG PLACE, NO HIDING PLACE, COLD CASE, Deadly encounter and Lost Innocence

The DI Kayli Bright Trilogy – The Missing Children, Killer on the Run, Hidden Agenda, Murderous Betrayal and Dying Breath.


There are three books in the Intention series, Sole Intention, Grave Intention and Devious Intention.

Plus a couple of standalone novels – EVIL IN DISGUISE and FOREVER WATCHING YOU.

I’ve also penned a cozy mystery Private Investigator series – Murder at the Wedding, Murder at the Hotel and Murder by the Sea.

As well as co-authoring the Deception Series co-authored by fellow NY Times bestselling author, Linda S Prather Clever Deception, Tragic Deception and Sinful Deception.

If you’d like to keep up to date with new releases you can find me on Facebook by following this link http://smarturl.it/sps7jh or sign up for my newsletter http://eepurl.com/b5pSFD

If you fancy a lighter read, why not try one of my romances: A Time to Heal, and A Time for Change–Based on a TRUE story. I also have a selection of short stories and novelettes available which I know you’ll enjoy.

You can find out more about me at the following blogs.


Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

  • Reading 2020

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.