#BookReview |The Soul Killer By Ross Greenwood @greenwoodross @boldwoodbooks #TheSoulKiller #bookblogger #bookblog #crimefiction

Posted May 5, 2020 by Ami-May in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

The Soul KillerThe Soul KillerSeries: The DI Barton Series #2
Publisher: Boldwoods Books
Publication Date: May 14, 2020
Pages: 346
Goodreads
Source: TBC Reviewers
Genre: Crime Fiction, Police Procedurals, Serial Killers
Buy the Book: Buy the Book

‘Repent in this life, rejoice in the next…’

When a suicide devastates a happy family, they can’t accept their loved one would take his own life, so they ask the brilliant DI Barton to investigate. But with no obvious suspicious circumstances, the case is soon closed.

Shortly afterwards however, the family is rocked by another blow – this time a shocking accident. And when the remains of a man are found, and the victim has an odd connection to the same family, everything points to one suspect.

Barton and his team move quickly, and once the killer is behind bars, they can all breathe a sigh of relief. But death still lurks in the shadows, on the hunt for more souls.

How do you stop a killer that believes life is a rehearsal for eternity, and their future is worth more than yours…?

Ross Greenwood writes gritty, heart-pounding thrillers, with twists aplenty, and unforgettable endings. Perfect for fans of Mark Billingham and Stuart MacBride.

Praise for Ross Greenwood:'Move over Rebus and Morse; a new entry has joined the list of great crime investigators in the form of Detective Inspector John Barton. A rich cast of characters and an explosive plot kept me turning the pages until the final dramatic twist.' author Richard Burke

‘Master of the psychological thriller genre Ross Greenwood once again proves his talent for creating engrossing and gritty novels that draw you right in and won’t let go until you’ve reached the shocking ending.’ Caroline Vincent at Bitsaboutbooks blog

'Ross Greenwood doesn’t write clichés. What he has written here is a fast-paced, action-filled puzzle with believable characters that's spiced with a lot of humour.' author Kath Middleton

Rating: 5 out of 5.
Rating Report
Plot/Narrative

Well, firstly Ross Greenwood has done it again, I read the first book in the DI Barton series ' The Snow Killer' is it without a doubt amazing.

DI John Barton and his team, when a family has a devastating suicide of their father who was gravely ill with cancer. And they can not accept that he committed suicide, unfortunately, with no suspicious circumstances. The case is closed. Then another person is killed in the family. Plus, they call DI Barton to yet another scene of skeleton remains.

The plot is incredibly dark, gritty, and absolutely exceedingly enthralling and extraordinary. You can't get much gritter or as soul-sucking as this killer. Ross has crafted one crazy sick mother f×cker (But, I thought that about 'The Snow Killer'). This author truly gets better and better. The story is told from DI Barton and The Soul Killer's point of view, alternating with each chapter.

10 stars
Characters

DI John Barton is a brilliant, standout, kind and interesting character. I love that Greenwood gives a very good glimpse into his and his family's life. He has a supportive family and you can truly understand how much he loves his family. Which is quite refreshing amongst the dark bits of this book.

His team are equally as awesome and I love their light-hearted jokes while there working.

The Soul Killer is honestly destructive, creepy, dark, but at the same time seems quite ordinary. He undoubtedly has had an awful childhood with a horrible, crazed religious mother and relentless bullying. I did feel a little empathy for him due to the above.

10 stars
Writing Style/Pacing

Greenwood has created yet another cracking, disturbing, explosive crime thriller. It was a unique way of writing this book, and it has paid off tenfold. It is a page-turner with ingenious twists and turns, razor-sharp and distinctively tension-filled.

5 stars
Themes/Settings

This started off slow-paced but quickly turned into an addictive, tension-filled book that doesn't let you go.

10 stars
Cover

Bright, eye-catching and striking.

9 stars
Overall Thoughts

A cracking, disturbing, explosive crime thriller. A page-turner with ingenious twists and turns. Razor-sharp, distinctive and addictively tension-filled. A slow-paced start with a thoroughly sensational steady velocity. With a standout, brilliant family loving detective and his team. The Killer is one creepy, dark, disturbing crazy sick mother-f×cker.

10 stars
Final Rating 9 stars

five-stars

About Ross Greenwood

I was born in 1973 in Peterborough and lived there until I was 20, attending The King’s School in the city. I then began a rather nomadic existence, living and working all over the country and various parts of the world.

I found myself returning to Peterborough many times over the years, usually when things had gone wrong. It was on one of these occasions that I met my partner about 100 metres from my back door whilst walking a dog. Two children swiftly followed. I’m still a little stunned by the pace of it now.

Fifty Years of Fear book was started a long time ago but parenthood and then after working in sales management all my life, i randomly spent four years as a prison officer. Ironically it was the four a.m. feed which gave me the opportunity to finish the book as unable to get back to sleep I completed it in the early morning hours.

I’ve now written seven further books. My second book, The Boy Inside, was picked up by a publisher, and Lazy Blood is also out. All my books are thought provoking, and told with a sense of humour. Reading the reviews has been great.

The first three books are stand alone, however, some of the characters cross over, and you can see how at times, their lives overlap.

Abel’s Revenge is something a bit different. It’s a modern day love story set against the backdrop of an escalating serial killer. There’s a whodunnit element to it, and some smiles along the way.

Shadows of Regret was inspired by my time on the women’s side of the jail in Peterborough, and analyses the close relationship between victim and villain. You won’t have read a book like it.

My best selling detective series started with The Snow Killer in late 2019 and sold 40,000 copies in the first 6 months.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.