The Lies I Tell by Joel Hames #BookReview @joel_hames #TheLiesITell

Posted June 9, 2020 by Ami-May in Book Blogging Posts, Book Reviews, Reading 2020, Reading Challenges / 2 Comments

Hello All, I have a BOOK REVIEW today for THE LIES I TELL by JOEL HAMES. I received this book for free from The Book Club Reviewer Group in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. Here are my honest and unbiased opinions on this book.

The Lies I TellThe Lies I Tell by Joel Hames
Publication Date: June 9, 2020
Pages: 372
Goodreads
Source: THE Book Club Reviewer Group
Genre: Crime Thrillers, Psychological Thriller
Buy the Book: Buy the Book

SHE’S WATCHING YOU
BUT WHO’S WATCHING HER?

From the bestselling author of Dead North, a tense, claustrophobic psychological thriller perfect for fans of Lucy Foley, Claire McGowan and Clare Mackintosh.

Meet Polly. Meet Emily. Meet Belinda.

They're all me. My name is Lisa and I’m an identity thief. If I’m not inside your system stealing your money, I’ve probably already stolen it. I’m your friend. I’m a thief. I’m gone.
I’m in control.

Only now, the tables have been turned. I’m in danger. My son is in danger. And I don’t know where that danger’s coming from.

Any friend.
Any enemy.
Any stranger.

Anyone from the past I’ve been trying to outrun for years.

NOBODY CAN BE TRUSTED.

Rating: 8.5 out of 10.
Rating Report
Plot/Narrative

The Lies I Tell is an intelligent current day compelling and suspenseful thriller.

The plot is captivating, exciting and chilling while also being frighteningly relevant today. How tangible and vast the internet is, how straightforward and effortless it is to have many identities and how to defraud people amongst other things.

This tells the story of Lisa, a single mother who has miscellaneous personalities and how she uses those to her advantage to lead an unlawful life making money to care and provide for her son, Simon, as well as keeping him safe. The reasons become apparent throughout the book as her past emerges trickling into the present day.

9.5 stars
Characters

Lisa is a very untrusting and apprehensive character who is so very easy to loathe at first but as you delve deeper into this book you begin to learn about her childhood and how she became who she is and what she does. Joel has done a brilliant job of cultivating her character while being realistic and profound.

There were many other various immersing characters who all fit into this little box we call The Lies She Tell.

9 stars
Writing Style/Pacing

A thought-provoking educational novel full to the brim of twists and turns. Joel has stitched this dark, suspenseful and complicated story together satisfactorily. It is a fast-moving book that keeps you flipping the pages as your anxiety and paranoia heightens while you are thinking about your own internet and social media security and safety. Joel is a strong writer who's writing is neat and flows nicely.

9 stars
Themes/Settings

The themes are online safety and security, deception, childhood abuse, hacking, distrust and much more.

I love smart and provoking themes in books which make you really sit back and think. Books that are actually thought-provoking. I spend 90% of my life online so it is very easy to relate to the myriad of themes running throughout.

Joel makes the setting come alive.

9 stars
Cover

I love this cover so much. The blue is fantastic and it catches the chilling novel inside perfectly.

9 stars
Overall Thoughts

The Lies I Tell is a thought-provoking, captivating, exciting and chilling educational novel full to the brim of twists and turns. A fast-moving book that keeps you flipping the pages as your anxiety and paranoia heightens. Joel has done a brilliant job of cultivating the MC, Lisa while being realistic, deep and profound.

9 stars
Final Rating 9.08 stars

About Joel Hames

Just who is Joel Hames?

Joel Hames lives in rural Lancashire with his wife and two daughters, where he works hard at looking serious and pretending to be a proper novelist. Joel writes what he wants, when he wants to (which by coincidence is when the rest of the family choose to let him). His first novel, Bankers Town, was published in 2014, and The Art of Staying Dead followed in 2015.

If you want to know what Joel has planned for the future, what he thinks right now, or just stalk him a little, you can find him on Facebook at facebook.com/joelhamesauthor or Twitter at @joel_hames. Or use those things on the right. You know the ones I mean. Little orange bastards that stay there no matter whether you scroll up or down or throw a brick at the screen.

If you want a photo of Joel Hames to print off and pin up on your bedroom wall, use this one

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

  • Reading 2020

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

2 responses to “The Lies I Tell by Joel Hames #BookReview @joel_hames #TheLiesITell

  1. Christine

    Love all your reviews of books wish I was as good as you to use those words describing a book keep it up x

  2. Ooo this sounds like a good one, will make a note of this to get for my mum as we’re getting a bit low on reading material (I like an endless supply of books but with the library closed it’s not as easy..!) Great review as always.
    Caz xx

    PS. Not sure if I said this before but I love the refreshed look of your blog and the new header, very fresh and funky! xx