THE LOST GIRLS by HELEN PRYKE #BookReview @helen_pryke @BloodhoundBook #TheLostGirls

Posted June 22, 2020 by Ami-May in Book Blogging Posts, Book Reviews, Reading 2020, Reading Challenges / 2 Comments

Greetings All, I am so eager to share with you a BOOK REVIEW today for THE LOST GIRLS by HELEN PRYKE.  I received this book for free from BLOODHOUND BOOKS in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. Here are my honest and unbiased opinions on this book.

The Lost GirlsThe Lost Girls by Helen Pryke
Publisher: Bloodhound Books
Publication Date: June 17, 2020
Pages: 255
Goodreads
Source: Bloodhound Books
Genre: Fiction, Women's Crime Fiction, Women's Detective Fiction, Women's Psychological Fiction
Buy the Book: Buy the Book

Years ago his sisters died. Now he wants them back.
Seventeen years ago he lost his sisters.

Now he wants them back.

Four years ago, two teenage girls were abducted.

Four years ago, a ten-year-old boy was murdered.

Both cases remain unsolved.

Desperate to find their missing sisters, Michael and Chloe ask investigative journalist Maggie Turner to help them. And what starts as a simple investigation, soon turns into a frantic race against time.

The kidnapper took the girls to replace his sisters; sisters who died seventeen years earlier.

Forced to face traumatic events from the past, Maggie finds herself in the middle of a nightmare that can only get worse…

Tense, fast-paced, and gritty, The Lost Girls is the first novel in the Maggie Turner series. It's the perfect read for fans of authors like Angela Marsons, Carol Wyer and Helen Fields.

Rating: 9 out of 10.
Rating Report
Plot/Narrative

Oh my, This psychological thriller is fucking fantastic. I can't begin to explain how much I loved this book believe me it's taken me a few days to get my thoughts together and write this book review.

The overall plot is fabulously crafted together and makes for an all-consuming absorbing mesmerizing read that has everything a psychological thriller needs. This becomes a thoroughly addictive interesting story with fantastic characters with a sadistic antagonist who makes your toes curl and your body squirm.

Two girls - ' The Lost Girls' and Jane And Charlotte go missing/ are abducted two weeks apart. Jane is 13 years old she is being bullied at school and forced to look after her younger sister Chloe and feels unappreciated, unloved and unwanted. Charlotte is 14 years old goes missing after school. She has friends in school and loves her family. They both wake up in a basement.

Before the girls went missing a little boy goes missing it was thought, he had run away until his body is found and the cause is murder.

4 years later and they still haven't be found. Jane and Charlotte's Brother and Sister find Maggie an investigative journalist who is no longer doing investigative journalism due to her autoimmune disease and because of the murder of her nephew, Thomas.
Anyway, Micheal and Chloe convince her to look into the case of their missing sisters as it went cold very soon after.

10 stars
Characters

Maggie is a wonderfully real, raw, distinguished and interesting character. She is suffering from an autoimmune disease which the name is not mentioned in the book which I think adds to the story as it adds some more mystery to the book and is able to have more readers being able to relate to her characteristics. Helen has handled this perfectly, sensitivity and portrayed it skillfully.

The adductor/perpetrator is one warped, sick sadistic disturbing mother fucker. But Helen crafted his character really well and allowed us to get deep in his mind. He makes every fibre of your being shudder and go cold with uncertainty and horror.

9 stars
Writing Style/Pacing

The Prologue was brilliant and gave us a glimpse into what an epic story this would become. We were given alternative chapters from several points of views including the abductor, Maggie and The Lost Girls, Charlotte and Jane. I love books that are told from multiple points of view as we get a better insight into the characters and the overall plot/story.

Fast-paced, tense and nail-biting.

9 stars
Themes/Settings

Some of the settings were familiar to me and near to where I live and I think it's was much more enjoyable yet all the more realistic and scarier for me.

Helen did exceptionally good at
representing a multitude of themes within this book and did so realistically and in a respectful and careful sensitive manner.

9 stars
Cover
10 stars
Overall Thoughts

The overall plot is fabulously crafted together and makes for an all-consuming absorbing mesmerizing read that has everything a psychological thriller needs. A thoroughly addictive interesting story with fantastic characters with a sadistic antagonist who makes your toes curl and your body squirm. The Prologue was brilliant and gave us a glimpse into what an epic story this would become.
Fast-paced, tense and nail-biting.

9 stars
Final Rating 9.33 stars

About Helen Pryke

Helen Pryke is a British author who has been living in the north of Italy for almost 30 years, learning everything about Italians, their culture, and their way of life. She now considers herself more Italian than British, even though she has never lost her British accent. Addicted to coffee and chocolate, she has also developed a passion for good food, having married an Italian who is a wonderful cook. Helen writes emotional women's fiction set in Italy that deals with the difficult subject of abuse in a sensitive way. She also writes middle grade fiction under the pen name, Julia E. Clements. When she's not writing, she works as a proofreader for indie authors and a translator (from Italian to English). She loves reading, and will read anything and everything.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

2 responses to “THE LOST GIRLS by HELEN PRYKE #BookReview @helen_pryke @BloodhoundBook #TheLostGirls

  1. Thank you so much for this wonderful review. Maggie’s autoimmune disease is based on my own (I’ve yet to find out which one I have, which is why Maggie’s isn’t named). I grew up in the area and know it well, having lived there until I was 20. I’m so pleased you loved it!

    • I have fibromyalgia and M.E so I kinda have some of maggies symptoms so there relatable to me too. It’s a long process I was lucky in that I was diagnosed with 6-8 months but probably had it a very long time. I live in buxton I went to college in leek. So that area is well known to me and I love leek tbh. X