Won’t You Save Me By Wendy Dranfield #Book Review #CrimeFiction #Crimeseries #DeanMatheson @WendyDranfield @RubyFiction

March 13, 2020     Ami-May     Book Reviews

Won't You Save MeWon't You Save Me by Wendy Dranfield
Series: Dean Matheson #3
Publisher: Ruby Fiction
Publication Date: January 29, 2020
Pages: 350
Source: Netgalley
Genre: Crime, Mystery, Psychological Fiction, Psychological Thrillers
Buy on amazon Buy on Amazon UK

Detective Dean Matheson has returned to his hometown to begin his new job and put the traumatic events of his past behind him – but his fresh start won’t last long when the local area is hit by a series of strange disappearances and twisted killings …
A nameless girl badly beaten and dumped in front of the mysterious new church. A shocking murder scene discovered in the apartment over the diner. A child missing without a trace.
These are the crimes Dean Matheson is confronted with in his first week as detective. Are they isolated events, or is something altogether more disturbing happening in Maple Valley now that Dean’s back in town?

An unknown girl is found dumped near the church, she is horrifyingly beaten. Then a child goes missing, plus they find another gruesome murder scene in a flat above the diner. Dean Matheson is back in his hometown, hoping for a fresh start. He has now become a detective with his new partner, Detective Eva Woods at Maple Valley PD. 
In his first week, they are faced with two frightening murders and a missing child’s case. 
This book has a fucking wondrous and marvellous opening scene like ever. It’s gob smackingly genius! 
There is just so much to say about this novel, but I have mislaid my words in a useful way. 
Anyway, I don’t know, but this has got to be the best book in the entire series. I don’t quite understand how the author keeps topping every book in this series. I find it’s hard to keep series books consistent, engaging and to keep developing the characters. 
But Wendy has a special knack for delivering top-notch books, which get satisfactorily better. 
Dean Matheson is a memorable and remarkable character, who you fall madly in love with, and Wendy does a considerably satisfactory job of giving Dean a lot of depth. Throughout the series, he has fought many battles, hit rock bottom and rose up like a trooper. 
Eva Wood, she is a feisty, determined, and very self-reliant character. She and Dean are an impressive, intriguing team. They have this connection and chemistry, which makes for powerful remarkable characters as individuals and as a team. 
Each book in the series can be read as a standalone, but you would be missing a lot of knowledge and understanding of the backstory about the characters. 
I would highly recommend this book/series to everybody that loves crime/detective novels. It undoubtedly has to be up there with the best. 
It deserves all the stars. 
Thanks Wendy, for creating yet another stunning book. I am not sure if you can top this one but evidently you with surprise us with another. 


About Wendy Dranfield

Wendy is a former coroner’s assistant turned crime writer who lives in the UK with her husband. As well as the Dean Matheson crime series and the YA crime novel – The Girl Who Died – Wendy has several short stories published in UK and US anthologies. She has also been shortlisted and longlisted for various competitions, including the Mslexia Novel Competition

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

  • Reading 2020

2 responses to “Won’t You Save Me By Wendy Dranfield #Book Review #CrimeFiction #Crimeseries #DeanMatheson @WendyDranfield @RubyFiction

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.